William Shatner’s New Album Is Far Out, Man


?Actor, talk show host, vocalist and national treasure William Shatner will once again inflict his vocal stylings upon an unsuspecting public with Searching for Major Tom, a new album due out later this year. Instead of the musical hodge podge that was his last effort, 2004’s quite good Has Been, this new effort will be a pretty epic sounding collection of covers that are mostly sci-fi/outer space-themed. Here’s the appropriately insane track listing from

Space Trucking originally by Deep Purple – Deep Purple drummer Ian Paice has performed the drum part. Johnny Winter is on guest guitar.

She Blinded Me With Science originally by Thomas Dolby –
Bootsy Collins is on as the guest bassist. Patrick Moraz (ex Yes and
Moody Blues) is guesting on keyboards/synth.

In a Little While originally by U2 – Manuel Gottsching from Ash Ra Tempel has added guitar.

Empty Glass originally by The Tea Party – Michael Schenker (UFO/Scorpions) has added guest guitar.

Lost in the Stars as done by Frank Sinatra – Jazz legend Ernie Watts is on guest saxophone.

Twilight Zone originally by Golden Earring – Warren Haynes (Gov’t Mule/Allman Brothers) is on guest guitar.

Space Cowboy originally by Steve Miller – Country artist Brad Paisley has added guitar and vocals.

Rocket Man originally by Elton John – Guitarist Steve
Hillage (ex Gong member and current member of techno rock duo System 7)
has added guest guitar

Space Oddity originally by David Bowie – Ritchie Blackmore
(ex-Deep Purple) has added guest guitar. Alan Parsons is adding guest

Spirit in the Sky originally by Norman Greenbaum – Peter Frampton has played guitar on this track.

Bohemian Rhapsody originally by Queen – John Wetton from Asia has played bass and done a vocal.

Silver Machine originally by Hawkwind – Wayne Kramer from
the MC5 is adding guitar and Carmine Appice (Vanilla Fudge/Rod Stewart)
is adding a guest drum part.

Major Tom originally by Peter Shilling – Nick Valensi, the
guitarist from the Strokes has added guest guitar to this this track.
Also Zakk Wylde (ozzy osbourn, black label society) and Mike Inez (Alice
In Chains)have contributed to this track.

Learning to Fly originally by Pink Floyd – Edgar Froese from Tangerine Dream has played guitar and keyboards on this track.

Mr. Spaceman originally by The Byrds – Dave Davies from the Kinks has added guest guitar on this track.

Iron Man originally by Black Sabbath – Zakk Wylde (ex Ozzy guitarist) played guitar and did a vocal on this track.

Planet Earth originally by Duran Duran – Steve Howe, guitarist with Yes, played guitar on this track.

Walking on the Moon originally by The Police – Toots of Toots & the Maytals has added a guest vocal.

Mrs. Major Tom – female singer to add a track -To be announced.

FYI: The typos/spelling errors above are all presented verbatim from the original press release. I suppose there’s no time to spellcheck when there’s this much rock goin on. Whether any of these songs reach the gold standard set by this remains to be seen. But to hear him cover “Iron Man,” “Bohemian Rhapsody” and 80s classic “Major Tom?” Yes please.